The Library as a study circle place/ Biblioteket rum för studiecirkel?

After some weeks of rest, (due to Christmas and that I am back in full time work after several month of resting after a knee operation) I am now back with this library blog.

The picture I chose for today shows the library as a place for a study circle for adults. I think it is a brilliant idea, as long as the study circle not intrudes on ordinary opening hours. And as long as the librarian can go home after a full day job! (Now I see to myself!! I am quite tired after 8 hours work!) But of course library premises are to be used as much as possible. Another aspect is that I have found that some people do not find it easy to go into a library; maybe they think it is for the reading people only, and maybe someone will ask if I read…

From the library perspective a study circle could show some of these people that a library could give everybody something, and that we never control what your purpose with your visit is.

A comment in last blog site was:

 Libraries as meeting points are indeed very interesting!!! I'm sure there are many nice people coming there, and the good thing is that people go there voluntary and to enjoy which means that they are probably in a good mood. And yes, it must be satisfying to help so many people in so many different ways every day.

Just one comment, don't you think libraries got get even more funding if it became known what an important role they have to fill in our society????

I wonder if politicians think like that, if they had done so, there would have been libraries spread out over the country (Zimbabwe, Sweden, England and so on) but that is not the case!

Do they not see how well a community could be developed, by opening up the library with technical equipment, newspapers of all sorts, books, and above all some good librarians and library assistants? And even open up the libraries in evenings with study circles for any idea, and a librarian there to support the study circle?

Why is not this case?

 Love from Kersti in a cold snow and ice in Sweden

 

 

 

 


RSS 2.0