Reading a newspaper

Reading the newspaper in the library

Reading the newspaper in the Library seems to be very common all over the world. This photo could as well be taken in any library anywhere! Newspapers are important to inform people what is going on. In Sweden lots of people give up there subscriptions on a daily newspaper and say they can read the news on the computer as well.
That's a possible scenery in the world where everybody has a computer and internet is working.
If it is possible to have a working internet connection in a library like Edward Ndlovu Library, people could read newspapers from all over the world and get a lot of influences and opinions from other countries and people. Isn´t that the main purpous of a library?


Of course there are other important things for a library.  

As a School Librarian I can see that my work is divided into three parts. On is to give the customers possibilities to take part of information. That could be to read a news paper, to look in an encyclopaedia or read a book about the certain question.

The other part of my library work is to give the customers a good book to read, that is suitable for how much they can read, what they like to read or what they don't know that they would like to read.

The third part of my daily work is to organize the library. To read books so I can recommend them to the customers, to buy the books, to organize them in library.  If I succeed in this three parts I think I am a good Librarian and it leaves me time to develop the three parts.


I still long for comments! Several people have told me that they read the blog but don't want to communicate by comments. And as long as people read the blog it is good. Still it would be stimulating to get comments.


Love to you all this cloudy Saturday morning, where I am sitting  here in Sweden writing, but my mind is in Gwanda!



 


Comments

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackbacks
RSS 2.0