http://www.afrikagrupperna.se/


Today I have looked at a Swedish organization, Afrikagrupperna. They are located in Stockholm, but have local support teams all over Sweden. The text below is from their homepage about Edward Ndlovu Memorial TrusLibrary, and a translation made of me. I don't think those of you that follows my blog every week will find so much of news here, but it could be useful to know that a lot of people support this project. 
If you want to support this library a good idea is to contact Afrikagrupperna and ask them for banking number. It is important for us that you tell them that the support is for ENMT! You can be anonymous or give them your name. Both Jackson Ndlovu and I would appriciate if you tell us that you have given us support this way!
my email: [email protected]

 
ENMT är en organisation som driver bibliotek och når ut
med böcker till 26 skolor i och omkring staden Gwanda i Matabeleland South. Projektet gäller stöd till att utveckla en läskultur och att bidra till ekonomisk och social utveckling. Aktiviteter i projektet är tillhandahållande av böcker och nödvändig information, kurser för bibliotekarier, rektorer, lärare och studiecirkelledare, stöd till bildande av studiecirklar och uppbyggnad av administrativ kapacitet. I studiecirklarna bearbetas ämnen som exempelvis jämställdhet och hiv/aids. Organisationen riktar sig till människor som arbetar och studerar i skolan men även till samhället i stort. Institutionellt stöd ges till andra bibliotek i distriktet och ett lokalt arkiv är i planeringsstadiet. Hjälp med lobbying erhålles för att få makthavare att tillhandahålla utvecklingsassistans till olika behövande områden.

ENMT is an organisation who is working with libraries and reach out with books to26  schools in and around the town of Gwanda in Matabeleland South. The project is a support to develop the Reading Culture and to contribute to economic and social development. Activities in the project is to provide books and necessary information, library training for the stuff, headmasters, teachers and study circle leaders, support to found study circles and to build up administrative capacity. In the study circles you learn about subjects as gender and iv/aids. The organisation is for the people working in schools but also to the community in all. Institutional support is given to other libraries in the District and a local archive is planned. They get help to lobby among the leaders of the community to provide developing assistance to different needs in the area.


Comments
Posted by: Bodil

I'm sure the quality of the story telling is very important. I remember when we had book talks in school, and how it could inspire to read and also to write, and actually also to think/reflect.



There are moments I still remember from when somebody was reading for me in my childhood. That I call a good story teller.



I still like very much when somebody read for me, but unfortunately we tend to think that it is something for children. It would be great to find/create a story telling group also for adults.

2009-10-22 @ 10:00:41
Posted by: Kersti

just as ju had a knitting groupe at a café last winter I am sure some people would like to have a story telling circle at a café That would be a nice idea. I use to have a story telling hour at the library and everybody seem to like it at lot.

love from Kersti

2009-10-22 @ 10:25:05
URL: http://kersti.webblogg.se/

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackbacks
RSS 2.0