Back to Newspapers

'

Reading the paper

 

This is one of my favorite pictures! And it is the same all over the world, where ever there is a library with a newspaper collection. To be able to read a newspaper, you really need to be able to read and to see what all the syllables mean. And this is universal! You need books, teachers, librarians, parents, friends and community and so on to reinforce you reading abilities. To know how to read means you can get information about everything; you also learn a new good story, or an old bad one :) And you can also find out things about your self! Your fantasy is trigged and old good or bad stories will stay alive long after the teller is gone. I think the story telling and the access to information is so essential for humans, and I can’t see how the the book, or newspaper or oral story telling is threatened. Read! - it doesn't matter in which form; in paper form (book or newspaper) or on a computer screen or listen to an MP3 file or listen to a good storyteller  - it has all the same purpose, to give us information and help our fantasy. The fantasy is especially important to give expression and to process the information you will get in a newspaper.

Now you regular visitor say, you wrote about that item a few "posts" ago. Oh yes I did, but this is a library blog and I find the topic so important so I want to write about it again! The main aim of a library is to provide information to everybody without asking for the purpose - isn't it great to go to the library and find a place to read a book or a paper? Maybe we take the access to a good library for given in the West, but how do you use your library??


Comments
Posted by: Bodil

Yes, I certainly think that we do take access to library for granted and we may not see the great value it has.



Unfortunately, I do not visit libraries so often any longer, but when I have the chance I go there to read newspaper and magazines. Instead, sometimes, I go to the bookshop to walk around the shelves full with books - such a pleasant feeling



I think I'll go soon to the library - Thanks for inspiration!



2009-09-16 @ 13:35:12

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackbacks
RSS 2.0