Donkeys

I have a wall at home where I change my pictures now and then (I can’t have all pictures in front of me all the time, they would fade by the sunshine and we would drown in pictures)

Anyhow, I suddenly come to think of this wonderful picture and of the important of libraries.

In the 1990thies when I first came to Zimbabwe, I met a wonderful man, named Obadiha Moyo. He started with “Donkey Drawn Libraries”. I am actually not sure that it was his idea from start, but I saw the chart and donkeys at a Book Fair in Harare, and thought what a wonderful idea to reach out in the rural areas. But also what a lot of man craft is needed, besides lots of different books and newspapers.

Donkeys are strong and willing to work and can live on the grass on the side of the road. Please, correct me if I am wrong. Besides the investment costs you need a librarian, or anybody who wants a good job, and money to that person’s salary. I wonder what the cost would be. Anyone who can help me to count on it? I think I have to send this letter to Mr. Moyo, if I can find him today and if he is still going strong.

What an adventure! I can see, like I think Mr Moyo once did, lots of charts filled with books coming out to people in the rural areas who can’t be reached by “normal” library service.

Anybody out there who knows more about donkey charts as library service out in the world?

Here are some addresses I found when I “googled” with donkey library as search words.

I am sure you can find a lot more about this subject, and I will go on “googling”.

 Love from me to all of you! Kersti

http://www.voanews.com/english/archive/2008-07/2008-07-30-voa13.cfm?CFID=286974242&CFTOKEN=24107117&jsessionid=8430d1500a26bf78d2d14637707b42267b65

 http://archive.ifla.org/V/press/pr0225-02.htm


Comments
Posted by: Bodil

This is such a cool idea! Mobil libraries that moreover is environmental friendly. Excellent.



There should be money at SIDA or somewhere for something like this. Why don't you structure the ideas and send them to "Afrikagruppen" or similar? Maybe you can write an article about it for library newsletters etc.



Maybe this could also happen in Sweden or other western countries - It would be so cool - an environmental cultural activity and also a way to bring nature closer to the people.

2009-09-21 @ 13:10:02

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackbacks
RSS 2.0