Storytelling in a swedish school

Hello again dear friends of Edward Ndlovu Memorial Trust Library in Gwanda,

Last week I wrote about storytelling, and promised to come back to the subject. To celebrate "World Book Day" i out school, Linnéskolan, in Älmhult, Sweden, the elder pupils read to the younger ones, This is a part of the schoolday, to show that you can express your self infront of others. When you are 13-16 years old you dream back to old times when you heard so many stories, at home, in school and in the local library. Most of the time they chose books which were popular when they were preschool kids. And that is good, because when you read/tell a story you have loved as child, the feeling is still there and your voice will be warm and smooth. You give the children a gift, very often they take that warm and nice feeling with them through life.

Once  (it is 12! years ago now) I had a girl coming from Lebanon. She did not understand a word of Swedish, but she came with her class to the library and listend to my voice. She did not understand a word of what I was telling, but she liked the feeling in the room, the sound of my voice telling the story and seeing all children so concentrated on what I was telling/reading to them.

After some month, being able to speak more and more swedish, she told me that "she shivered of joy" when the teacher told them it was time for "storytelling" in the library. I never forget her and the longing for stories in this girl!
Do you have any stories about listining or reading for somebody else? Maybe something from your childhood, or anything with storytelling? Please tell me and I will publish it here on the blog.

love for this time Kersti
mailto:[email protected]
or mailto:[email protected]


Comments

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackbacks
RSS 2.0