School Library Books



Hello Again!
This year, 2011, will be the great School Library Book year at Edward Ndlovu Memorial Library in Gwanda.
The book boxes, which are sent out to rural schools in Gwanda District, have been passed around for many years now. (12 years??? maybe) and the books are read and worn out during all these years. So this year will be THE BOOK YEAR!
The books on the picture I bought for the boxes when I was in South Africa last year. These I chose from knowledge about the books. We have them in Sweden at my library in Älmhult also and they are much loved by the children.
I bought them from money I had collected in Sweden before my trip to Southern Africa. The lady in the Museum shop in Cape Town was a bit chocked to sell so many books to one custumer and my arms were a bit longer after carring them all the way to Gwanda and the library. Maybe you could get them cheaper somewhere els, but as a librarian, you want to see and feel the real book in your hands and it is also a happiness to collect them like this.

We need to ask our self: A book for the library book boxes in Gwanda cost as much as HALF A BOTTLE of wine or a package of cigaretts or half the price of a cinema ticket or two loafs of bread or HALF A PIZZA, all in Swedish prices!
If we all go together and offer that half bottle of wine or make a homemade Pizza, we get an awful lot of books for the school children and their parents.
So let 2011 be the great BOOK BOX YEAR!
Want to join and buy a book instead? Please contact me!

Mailto: [email protected]
[email protected]

Love for today and think of what a diffrent a book can make!


Comments
Posted by: Bodil

what a nice idea! I want to give a book! Do I give the money and you choose the book? or can I wish for a special book?

2011-03-28 @ 22:41:31

Comment this entry:

Name:
Remember me?

Email address: (publiceras ej)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackbacks
RSS 2.0